#### TURKEY RIVER WATERSHED MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS 1:00 pm Thursday, September 30th, 2021 <u>REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING</u>

The regular and annual meeting of the Turkey River Watershed Management Authority Board of Directors was called to order at 1:00 pm on January 28th, 2021 virtually via Zoom.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Rod Marlatt, Fayette County Barb Collins, City of Monona Bruce Lehman, City of Clermont Bill Bennett, Fayette SWCD Jennifer Cowsert, City of Elkader Jason Byrne, City of Lawler Paul Hoeger, City of Maynard Kristin Klingman, City of Volga Gerry Ommen, Clayton SWCD Jason Byrne, Chickasaw County Eric Boehm, City of Wadena Ray Peterson, Clayton County

## \*APPROVAL OF AGENDA

**\*\*MOVED BY BYRNE, SECONDED BY PETERSON, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.** TO APPROVE AGENDA AS PRESENTED.

#### \*APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM APRIL 22ND, 2021 \*\*MOVED BY OMMEN, SECONDED BY BENNETT, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM APRIL 22ND, 2021 AS PRESENTED.

### \*ANNUAL MEETING BUSINESS

- Review members in need of re-appointment City of Arlington Dustin Schott; City of Calmar no representative; City of Elgin – no representative; City of Lawler – Jason Byrne; City of Strawberry Point – Alison Osweiler; City of Waucoma – no representative; Chickasaw County – Jason Byrne; Clayton County – Ray Peterson; Winneshiek SWCD – Jon Lubke; Allamakee SWCD – Jack Knight
- Executive Committee Re-appoint or elect new members \*\*MOVED BY KNIGHT, SECONDED BY BYRNE, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO RE-APPOINT BART WILSON (HOWARD SWCD), JOHN LUBKE (WINNESHIEK SWCD), AND JENNIFER COWSERT (CITY OF ELKADER) TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.
- Elect officers Ross Evelsizer/Rod Marlatt \*\*MOVED BY KNIGHT, SECONDED BY PETERSON, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO RE-APPOINT ROD MARLATT (FAYETTE COUNTY) AS BOARD CHAIR, BILL BENNETT (FAYETTE SWCD) AND JENNIFER COWSERT (CITY OF ELKADER) AS SECRETARY TREASURER.

#### **\*REGULAR BUSINESS**

- County On-Road Policy Update Rod Marlatt discussed the need for counties to continue to push to get on-road structures installed in the watershed. Ross Evelsizer updated the board that the IDNR and Iowa Flood Center are working on an analysis of the economic impact of on-road structures and mapping out potential locations. The project is slated to be completed in 2022.
- Watershed Signage Rod Marlatt Marlatt updated the board about plans to install signage acknowledging the boundary of the TRW in Fayette County along major highways. The Fayette SWCD provided funding for two signs to be installed along Highway 18 and Highway 150 in Fayette County on private lands.
- 2019 Regional Conservation Partnership Program NRCS Hunter Slifka and Neil Shaffer indicated they are signing up landowners for cost share programs available through the RCPP program. IDALS holds the grant and is distributing \$3M over 5 years to NRCS/SWCD county offices in the TRW. Funds will be distributed based on practice signup numbers in each county.
- Water Quality Initiative Ross Evelsizer updated the board on planning activities for the Frog Hollow Watershed in Fayette County. Northeast Iowa RC&D completed a detailed plan with collaboration with the SWCD office and Iowa DNR. The plan includes detailed practice information for landowners that are interested in implementing conservation practices if incentive programs are available.
- TRWMA Coordinator Update Ross Evelsizer

Driftless Resilience Planning – Evelsizer reported that Northeast Iowa RC&D is coordinating a planning effort to complete a regional landscape resilience plan for the Driftless Region. Planning will include the TRW.

Clayton County CCB Grant – Evelsizer updated the board that this grant application was unsuccessful. National Science Foundation Grant Application – Evelsizer updated the board that this grant application was unsuccessful. Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities – Fayette County is working on an application to the Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities grant program through FEMA. The application would provide funding to implement an on-road detention structure in the TRW northwest of West Union.

• Other - None

### \*ADJOURNMENT AT 2:15 PM

**\*\*MOVED BY HOEGER, SECONDED BY BYRNE, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:** TO ADJUORN REGULAR MEETING AT 2:15PM

#