### TURKEY RIVER WATERSHED MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

1:00 pm Thursday, November 15th, 2012

### **REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING**

The regular meeting of the Turkey River Watershed Management Authority Board of Directors was called to order at 1:10 pm on November 15, 2012 at the Postville YMCA, in Postville Iowa.

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Corey Meyer, Calmar

Jon Biederman, Fayette

Paul Herold, Fort Atkinson

Paul Hoeger, Maynard

Jon Biederman, West Union

Jon Biederman, West Union

Jon Biederman, West Union

Jon Biederman, West Union

Rick Holthaus, Chickasaw County

Jill Brincks, Chickasaw County

Ron McCartney, Clayton County

Rod Marlatt, Fayette County

Eric Boehm, Wadena Lonnie Pierce, Winneshiek County Owen Sylvester, Clayton County SWCD Don Myers, Waucoma Bill Bennett, Fayette County SWCD Dwayne Hauber, Winneshiek County SWCD

#### \*APPROVAL OF AGENDA

\*\*MOVED BY COREY MEYER, SECONDED BY DANA FRANZEN, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO APPROVE THE AGENDA AS PRESENTED.

### \*NEW BUSINESS

### Iowa Flood Center - IIHR Presentation on Watershed Demonstration Project

Larry Weber, Director of IIHR—Hydroscience and Engineering at the University of Iowa, presented to the board on the hydrological models Iowa Flood Center staff and graduate students are creating for the Turkey River Watershed as part of the multi-year Watershed Project Demonstration Project. Graduate students are developing models of both how surface water flows throughout the entire watershed and models that focus specifically on the interaction between surface and ground water. This modeling is as state of the art as anything that's being done in the country. Next spring, the Iowa Flood Center will be looking to discuss potential projects for implementation. The board will want to identify locations where landowner's and residents are fully engaged and onboard for implementation. *Presentation at http://turkeyriver.org/iowa-flood-center-project/* 

### Turkey River Watershed Management Authority Planning Process

Clayton County announced that the TRWMA has been awarded HUD funding from the Iowa Economic Development Authority to develop a watershed plan in the Turkey River Watershed. Clayton County will send out a Request for Qualifications and will hire a consultant to assist in the planning process. The planning process will likely include quarterly meetings at different locations in the watershed where the WMA board, community leaders, producer groups, water resource professionals, and citizens of the watershed work out a plan to implement. *Handout at www.turkeyriver.org* 

# \*\*MOVED BY BILL BENNETT, SECONDED BY DANA FRANZEN, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO HAVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEW CLAYTON COUNTY'S RECOMMENDATION FOR WMA BOARD

### **Funding Sources**

Lora Friest, Northeast Iowa RC&D, shared information with the board on a variety of funding sources for the watershed projects. *Handout at www.turkeyriver.org* 

# \*OTHER BUSINESS

# Staggered Terms for Board Members

Board members are elected by their city/county/SWCD for four year terms, and according to the 28E agreement, these terms must be staggered. The first terms will end in 2013, 2014, 2015, or 2016. Each board member who was present drew a random year, and Brad Crawford drew a year for members who were not present. See attached sheet or <u>turkeyriver.org</u> for each board member's term. Board members are eligible for reappointment by their city/county/SWCD.

### Schedule Next Board Meeting

The next meeting was scheduled for 1:00 p.m. on January 31, 2013 at the Postville YMCA in Postville, Iowa.

## \*ADJOURNMENT AT 2:40 PM

\*\*MOVED BY DANA FRANZEN, SECONDED BY PAUL HEROLD, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO ADJOURN REGULAR MEETING AT 2:40 PM.

Brad Crawford, Turkey River Watershed Pro	ject Coordinator, Northeast Iowa RC&D
	Roard Secretary Signature

# **Turkey River Watershed Management Authority - Board Members & Terms**

November 15, 2012

Political Subdivision	Appointed Rep	Alternative Rep	Alternative Rep	Term Renewal
City of Arlington	Dustin Schott			2013
City of Calmar	Corey Meyer			2013
City of Clermont	Jim Matt			2016
City of Cresco	Ron Hyberger	Rod Freidhof		2015
City of Elgin	Rhonda Dales			2013
City of Elkader	Jennifer Cowsert			2014
City of Farmersburg	Margaret Corlett			2013
City of Fayette	Jon Biederman			2014
City of Fort Atkinson	Paul Herold	David Schneiter		2016
City of Garnavillo	Denise Schneider			2016
City of Hawkeye	Dana Franzen			2014
City of Lawler	John Izer			2013
City of Maynard	Paul Hoeger			2014
City of Monona	Dan Canton	Fran Passmore		2014
City of Postville	Leigh Rekow			2016
City of Spillville	Michael Klimesh			2016
City of St. Lucas	Kerri Langreck			2016
City of St. Olaf	Harold Krambeer			2014
City of Strawberry Point	Deanna Dement			2014
City of Volga	Kristin Klingman			2014
City of Wadena	Eric Boehm			2016
City of Waucoma	Marlene Klemp	Don Myers		2013
City of West Union	Jon Biederman			2014
Chickasaw County	Rick Holthaus	Jill Brincks	Jason Byrne	2015
Clayton County	Ron McCartney	Larry Gibbs		2013
Fayette County	Rod Marlatt			2016
Howard County	Adolph Mick Gamez			2015
Winneshiek County	Lonnie Pierce			2013
Allamakee County SWCD	Jack Knight			2013
Chickasaw County SWCD	James Reicks			2015
Clayton County SWCD	Owen Sylvester	Eric Palas		2014
Delaware County SWCD	Steve Lueken			2015
Fayette County SWCD	Bill Bennett			2015
Howard County SWCD	Bart Wilson	Chad Gilles		2016
Winneshiek County SWCD	Dwayne Hauber			2015