TURKEY RIVER WATERSHED MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

1:00 pm Thursday, July 26th, 2012

REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING

The regular meeting of the Turkey River Watershed Management Authority Board of Directors was called to order at 1:00 pm on July 26, 2012 at the Postville YMCA, in Postville Iowa.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Corey Meyer, Calmar Leigh Rekow, Postville Ron McCartney, Clayton County Jim Matt. Clermont Harold Krambeer, St. Olaf Rod Marlatt, Fayette County Adolph Mick Gamez, Howard County Rod Freidhof, Cresco Kristin Klingman, Volga Lonnie Pierce, Winneshiek County Rhonda Dales, Elgin Eric Boehm, Wadena Jon Biederman, Fayette Marlena Klemp, Waucoma James Reicks, Chickasaw County SWCD David Schneiter, Fort Atkinson Jon Biederman, West Union Eric Palas, Clayton County SWCD Rick Holthaus, Chickasaw County Bill Bennett, Fayette County SWCD Dana Franzen, Hawkeye

Paul Hoeger, Maynard Dan Canton, Monona Jill Brincks, Chickasaw County Dwayne Hauber, Winneshiek County SWCD

*APPROVAL OF AGENDA

**MOVED BY BILL BENNETT, SECONDED BY ERIC BOEHM, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO APPROVE THE AGENDA AS PRESENTED.

Jason Byrne, Chicksaw County

*OLD BUSINESS

Filing of 28E Agreement

Brad Crawford, Northeast Iowa RC&D uploaded the TRWMA's 28E agreement to Iowa Secretary of State (SOS) website on June 29th, 2012, officially marking the formation of the TRWMA. The SOS staff are working to make the PDF available for download from their website, and in the meantime, the full PDF is also available at: http://turkeyriver.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/28E-Optimized.pdf

Chad Gilles, Howard County SWCD

*NEW BUSINESS

Election of Officers and Executive Committee

**MOVED BY MCCARTNEY, SECONDED BY BOEHM, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPOINT ROD MARLATT, FAYETTE COUNTY, AS CHAIR

**MOVED BY RHONDA DALES, ELGIN, SECONDED BY DANA FRANZEN, HAWKEYE, AYES: 24; NAYS: BENNETT, MOTION WAS CARRIED:

TO APPOINT BILL BENNETT, FAYETTE SWCD, AS VICE CHAIR.

**MOVED BY JASON BYRNE, CHICKASAW COUNTY, SECONDED BY BILL BENNETT, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPOINT RON MCCARTNEY, CLAYTON COUNTY, AS SECRETARY/TREASURER

**MOVED BY DALES, SECONDED BY FRANZEN, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPOINT BART WILSON, HOWARD SWCD TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, PENDING HIS APPROVAL.

**MOVED BY COREY MEYER, CALMAR, SECONDED BY BENNETT, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPOINT COREY MEYER, CALMAR, TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

**MOVED BY LONNIE PIERCE, SECONDED BY JIM REICKS, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPOINT DWAYNE HAUBER, WINNESHIEK SWCD, TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

**MOVED BY MCCARTNEY, SECONDED BY FRANZEN, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPOINT JENNIFER COWSERT, ELKADER, TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, PENDING HER APPROVAL.

Draft Application for Watershed Planning Grant

Lora Friest, Northeast Iowa RC&D, handed out a Draft Application for the Watershed Planning Funding made available through the Iowa Economic Development Authority and Iowa Department of Natural Resources. Mrs. Friest summarized the application and discussed all points on the handout "Summary of the Planning Process", and asked for input on developing the draft application. Discussion Points: Application is due September 24th. Iowa Economic Development Authority anticipates funding three watershed management authorities. McCartney suggested adding an inventory of existing funding sources.

**MOVED BY BENNETT, SECONDED BY KRISTIN KLINGMAN, VOLGA, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPROVE DRAFT WITH ADDITION OF INVENTORY OF EXISTING FUNDING SOURCES

Bylaws

Board went over second draft of bylaws, which incorporated suggestions of Alan Heavens, Clayton County Attorney, Marlatt suggested that Article V, Paragraph D specify that a majority vote of those at a regular meeting is needed to form other committees. The board of directors discussed setting up the bylaws to allow for a three-day notice for all meetings (regular, special, and committee).

**MOVED BY BENNETT, SECONDED BY DALES, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY:

TO APPROVE THE BYLAWS WITH NOTED CHANGES

*OTHER BUSINESS

Schedule Next Board Meeting

After discussion, it was decided that the next meeting will be held October 25, 2012, with an alternate date being November 15th, 2012, if the October meeting is not needed.

*ADJOURNMENT AT 2:17 PM

**MOVED BY MICK GAMEZ, HOWARD COUNTY, SECONDED BY CHAD GILLES, CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY: TO ADJOURN REGULAR MEETING AT 2:17 PM.

Amanda Streeper,	Brad Crawfo	ord, Northeast	Iowa RC&D
		Roard Secre	tary Signature